A Little More Time….

“A Little More Time”

Further up and deeper in
My Father calls me to my kin
Where my white fur will glisten like snow
Heart made strong, steady and slow
“Well done, little kitty, well done”

Through infirmity you taught us compassion
With patience you taught us reason
Twitching whiskers, gleeful grin
Touch of a paw, mewing whim
“Well done, little kitty, well done”

I’m not ready yet Daddy
My work here is not done
I still see her there
My answer to prayer
“Well done, sweet mama, well done”

Then my Father whispers to me
“You were the answer to prayer,
don’t you see?”
“Many pray, I hear, You hurt, I know”.
“We will wait for you at the Rainbow”.

Thank you Daddy for all you do
Just a little more time to love her through
What is coming, the time when I leave
This Earth to be with Thee
All should know this sweet love she gives to me.

Years from now at Your side
Restored to health, shining with pride
I will be there when you tell her
“WELL DONE GOOD AND FAITHFUL SERVANT!”

But as proud as I will be
To have my mama with me
There with You on that far away day,
Just a little more time here…
Father, for her love to shine.

You count the sparrows and blades of grass
You know my heart and what little I ask
Just a little more time
Father, for her love to shine.

I am but a little cat
—“No, James, you are so much more than that!”
Bearer of goodwill
Compassion for all
Tenderness of heart
Sweet of face
Patience through infirmity
Kindness to everyone
Beauty to withhold
Beauty within
Faithful companion
Loving friend

Maria R. Appleby (August 21, 2009)

(I wrote this for a friend who had just lost her beloved cat, James)

Leave a Reply

