Molasses Cookies

Nothing reminds me more of my grandmother (Dad’s mom) more than cookies. She always had big, soft cookies in her cookie jar. Not too long ago I made molasses cookies for the first time in decades. I had a hankering for them so strong, I just had to make them. My husband hadn’t had them since he was a child. I wish I had my grandmother’s cookie recipes. I spent several hours consulting all of my cook books and scouring the Internet, and I did not copy any specific recipe exactly, but did use several as a guide, and came up with a working recipe. The end result was a happy one. Nice, soft, and delicious molasses cookies. These are great with a glass of milk or a cup of coffee. Enjoy!

molasses

MOLASSES COOKIES

1 cup packed brown sugar
3/4 cup shortening
1/4 cup molasses
1 egg
2 1/4 cups all-purpose flour
2 teaspoons baking soda
1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1 teaspoon ground ginger
1/2 teaspoon ground cloves
1/4 teaspoon salt
3 tablespoons granulated sugar
Heat oven to 325°F. In large bowl, beat brown sugar, shortening, molasses and egg with electric mixer on medium speed, or mix with spoon. Stir in remaining ingredients except granulated sugar.
Shape dough by rounded tablespoonfuls into 1 1/2-inch balls. Dip tops into granulated sugar. On ungreased cookie sheet, place balls, sugared sides up, about 2 inches apart.
Bake 13 to 16 minutes or just until set and cookies appear dry. Immediately remove from cookie sheet to cooling rack.

Leave a Reply

