Mom’s doughnut recipe.

This recipe comes from my Mother, hand-written on a piece of note-book paper, older than me, and I was born in 1966. The numbers to the side in parenthesis are the conversion increase numbers for ingredients…..that Mom tested, tried and true. Most recipes were not big enough for our robust farm family, and Mom had to make more. I have copied it “AS IS” to this note (anything in red is added by me). I remember helping her make these as a little girl…..shaking the doughnuts up in a paper sack with sugar after she fried them. I also remember trying to “sneak eat” doughnut holes when her back was turned. I think she probably knew exactly how many I ate. 

1 1/2 cups scalded milk (2)

9 tablespoons shortening (12)

3/4 cup sugar (1)

4 1/2 teaspoons salt (6)

Cool to lukewarm by adding 1 1/2 cups water (2)

Add 3 cakes compressed yeast (4) 

***(one compressed yeast cake = 1 packet active dry yeast)

Blend in 2 eggs (4)

Add 9 3/4 cups flour (12-13)

Roll out on floured board to 1/4 inch thickness

Cut with 2 1/2 inch cutter and place on floured board

Let rise in warm place (85F-95F) for about an hour.

Fry in hot fat 375F 

***(Place several in a paper sack with some sugar, or sugar and cinnamon while they are still a bit warm and give them a good shake, to coat them, if you want! Extra yumminess!)

~~ Irma (Kochendorfer) Ware ~~ 

win_20170126_12_16_47_pro

13428459_10154292223919083_5268859616262218570_n

(PLEASE NOTE – “featured photo” was an Internet stock photo that I’ve seen on several blogs – photographer UNKNOWN – and I will replace my featured photo with one of my own next time I make my mom’s doughnuts!)

Save

Save

Save

One thought on “Mom’s doughnut recipe.

  1. Pingback: We tried my mom’s doughnut recipe. | Maria's Musings

Leave a Reply

