Basic Chili

If you thumb through cook books or search on the Internet for chili recipes, you will find all kinds of recipes. Hot and spicy. White. Southern. Mexican. Green. Beef, turkey, pork, venison, or chicken. Vegan. Texas style. Anyway, you get the idea. There is something for everyone. You can make it simply, or turn it into an endeavor requiring lot of time and effort (for those who start with dry beans they must sort and soak first). I don’t even make chili the “same way” every time I make it. It depends on what I have on hand here at the house. For the most part though, mine are simple. I’ve used dried beans before, but I usually use canned for convenience. I am no chili expert by any means, we just like to eat it. I made a big pot of (very simple and basic and inexpensive) chili today, and here is how I did it:

1 pound lean ground beef
1 – 16 oz. can whole kernel corn (drained)
1 – 16 oz. can diced tomatoes
1 – 16 oz. can black beans (drained)
1 – 16 oz. can kidney beans (drained)
1 – 6 oz. can tomato paste + 6 oz. water
3 Tablespoons minced garlic
1 Tablespoon chili powder
2 Teaspoons red pepper flakes
2 medium onions (diced)

I browned the ground beef with the onions, garlic, and red pepper flakes. Added the chili powder. Once the onions were translucent, I added all the beans, corn, tomatoes, paste, and water. Slow simmered for a couple of hours. Tonight I’ll serve it with home-made white bread. I don’t have any shredded cheese, green onions, or sour cream on hand at the moment, so no toppings. I don’t even have crackers! I better get busy on that shopping list, huh? Tomorrow we’ll have left-overs with white rice, and I’ll probably make a small corn bread. What I really appreciated was this was a super cheap pot of chili. The ground beef was on sale. All the canned items were generic, store brand or steeply discounted. Cheap eats = full bellies + happy wallets. 
16684335_10155053130699083_620642748904817375_n

Save

One thought on “Basic Chili

  1. Pingback: Enchiladas | Maria's Musings

Leave a Reply

