Enchiladas

We are not “experts” when it comes to enchiladas. This is something we have only recently tried to make, and we’re still learning. We also do some weird things with ours. As an example, the first time we made them, while I was busy chopping onions, I asked my husband to add the beans to the meat in the pot on the stove. HA! He put REFRIED BEANS in the pot instead of the black beans! Eeeee! Bless him! I should have said BLACK BEANS. When I turned around to put the diced onions in the pot….I was like….uhhhh….we weren’t supposed to put those in there! Oh well, nothing we could do about it, so we just added the rest of our stuff and went on our way with it. Turns out we kind of liked it that way and have put refried beans in our mix since then. But that’s not a “usual” mix ingredient. I have not learned how to make my own red enchilada sauce from scratch yet, so I use canned sauce. Sometimes I make flour tortillas, sometimes I buy them. We made enchiladas last night, and here’s what we did:

(About) 1 1/2 pounds ground beef
2 medium onions, diced (we love onions!)
1 16 oz. can refried beans (my husband’s surprise addition!)
1 16 oz can black beans, drained
2 Tablespoons minced garlic
1 Tablespoon red pepper flakes
1 Packet of taco seasoning
1 16 oz can green chilies, drained (OR as many diced hot peppers as you prefer)
*** I had about a cup of Basic Chili left over from a few nights ago and I threw that in the pot too.

*** You will also need red enchilada sauce. I buy the canned sauce and get a couple of 16 oz cans or one big 32 oz one.

Brown the meat and onions, until meat is cooked through and onions are clear, add remaining ingredients, heat thoroughly, then turn off stove when done.

We used the burrito-sized large flour tortillas. I warm them in the microwave first so they aren’t so stiff. I pour a little red enchilada sauce in a very shallow bowl, and dip one side of the tortilla in the sauce, a flip clean side down on a board. A generous scoop of eat mix and shredded cheese on the tortilla, then fold. I place seam side down in a greased baking pan. You can also grease your pan, then cover the bottom of the pan with red enchilada sauce first, if you want, before you place your enchiladas in the pan. Repeat until your pan is full. Pour red enchilada sauce over your enchiladas, don’t over do it, but no need to be stingy either. You want them covered, but not swimming, in sauce. Shredded cheese on top. Cover pan with foil, bake at 350 F. for about 40 minutes. When I plated them, I put a little sour cream on top, with sliced olives and green onions.

About the tortillas, we use flour tortillas, but you can use corn tortillas too. Sometimes I buy them, sometimes I make them. Some people fry their tortillas before making the enchiladas (oil in in hot pan, fry tortilla about 10-15 seconds on each side, drain on paper towels, this step is recommended for CORN TORTILLAS). Some people also dip both sides of the tortilla in enchilada sauce, before filling and folding. As a personal preference, I dip one side only. This is the nice thing….you can do what you prefer! Experiment with it and have fun! 

About folding the enchiladas, I am still mastering this seemingly simple task. The first time I made them I watched about ten “how to”  youtube videos, only to be shown ten different ways to fold enchiladas. Some fold, some roll, and there are even recipes for “layered” enchiladas where they are put flat in the baking dish much like how you would  prepare lasagna. Rolling them seems to be the most common way to make them. We fold ours like burritos, to make them less messy. 

FILLING IDEAS:
MEAT OR MEAT SUBSTITUTES:
Ground Beef, Shredded Beef, Shredded Pork, Shredded Chicken, Thinly Sliced Steak Strips, Vegan Griller Crumbles (or other vegan meat substitutes), Shrimp, Crab
ADDITIONAL MIX INGREDIENTS:
Refried Beans, Black Beans, Chili Beans, Green Chilies, Onions, Garlic, Shredded Cheese (your choice), Diced Hot Peppers, Minced Garlic, Spinach, Corn
Poke through your recipe books and google recipes online, there are so many wonderful ideas and recipes out there, I’m only mentioning a few ideas!
TOPPING IDEAS:
Sour Cream, Black Olives, Thinly Sliced Hot Peppers, Diced Tomatoes, Shredded Cheese (your choice), Guacamole, Green Onions, Salsa

All photos below are mine. 

One thought on “Enchiladas

Leave a Reply

