I am grateful for good days.

#ProjectZen #Day19 #GratitudeProject

Day 19 is a good day. I am grateful for good days.

Those of you that know me personally know I live with a chronic, incurable disease that has altered my life a great deal. Maintaining energy levels just to do normal, every day things can be challenging. Sometimes, like this morning, I woke up well-rested. I had minimal complications this morning. I have strong energy levels. I feel good.

I will not speak of the bad days, because if I speak it, if I write it, I give it power. The bad has no power over me today. None. Days like today make me want to pump my fist in the air and shout, “NOT TODAY!”

I’m proud of myself too. I helped my husband tidy up the house and look after our cats. I threw a load of laundry in the washer. I loaded up the dishwasher with last night’s dishes and got those going. I fried up half a slab of bacon for our lunch BLT’s. I have a banana bread in the oven. I have four huge enchiladas about ready to come out of the oven….I was able to use up the remaining filling left-over from the huge batch a couple of nights ago. I’m getting ready to stir up the fixings for a no-knead artisan bread, that I’ll bake tomorrow morning. Not much else left to do really, except fold clothes as they finish up drying. I can do that while I sit and watch M*A*S*H* re-runs on TV. Oh, a couple of the kitties need nail trims, but that’s a two-person job. We’ll do that later.  

Even better, it’s going to be a crazy almost 70 F. in the middle of February here, today. I’m going to throw open my windows and let in some sunshine, clean air, and bird song. That will make this good day quite fabulous indeed!

Anyway, most of you could do all that in a few hours. It took me about four hours. But, I’m plugging along and still feel great this morning. A small thing really, but I’m grateful.

11836659_10153566132644083_7885805948285217990_n

4 thoughts on “I am grateful for good days.

  1. I’m grateful that you are having a good day! There will be more and more of them as you continue this journey. The journey of gratitude helps you to say more often: I will NOT let the bad take over my thoughts and feelings. Yes, indeed, pump your fist in the air!

    And, for what it’s worth, it made me tired reading all of the things you did today. It would have taken me a lot longer than it took you — and that’s the truth.

    Hugs and love ❤

    • I’m having a good day……physically. What goes on in my head, is usually fair to good. Today I am just happy I can breathe without too much distress.

Leave a Reply

